Jackrabbit – Hoppy Session Brown

I’ve been meaning to get round to a hoppy brown beer as it’s been a while since the last one!. Not too much to say about this as it’s pretty straightforward. I brewed this up the day before #NCB2014 as I had the time and the ingredients in stock,.

I based the grist on Tasty McDole’s Janet’s Brown Ale, but scaled it back to a session-able 4.0% ish ABV. For the hops, I had a hankering for Chinook and Amarillo, so guess what went in?

 

DSC_0478

 

25L


1.042
33IBU
15SRM

 

Fermentables

Ingredient

Amount

%

MCU

When

UK Pale Ale Malt

3.500 kg

74.2 %

3.2

In Mash/Steeped

US Carapils Malt

0.364 kg

7.7 %

0.1

In Mash/Steeped

UK Light Crystal

0.364 kg

7.7 %

4.7

In Mash/Steeped

UK Wheat Malt

0.294 kg

6.2 %

0.2

In Mash/Steeped

UK Chocolate Malt

0.145 kg

3.1 %

19.8

In Mash/Steeped

German Carafa Special III

0.050 kg

1.1 %

8.0

In Mash/Steeped

Hops

Variety

Alpha

Amount

IBU

Form

When

US Chinook

13.6 %

12 g

17.7

Loose Whole Hops

60 Min From End

US Chinook

13.6 %

8 g

11.8

Loose Whole Hops

60 Min From End

US Amarillo

5.0 %

23 g

3.4

Loose Whole Hops

15 Min From End

US Chinook

13.6 %

15 g

6.1

Loose Whole Hops

15 Min From End

US Amarillo

5.0 %

23 g

0.0

Loose Whole Hops

At turn off

US Amarillo

5.0 %

40 g

0.0

Loose Whole Hops

Dry-Hopped

Yeast

DCL S-04-SafAle

DSC_0481

All in all a pretty straightforward brew-day! My efficiency was up so the OG was at 1.045, it fermented out to 1.012 so a little over target at 4.3% ABV. Still a nice easy drinker. It is sitting on the dry hops and will have a total of about about 7-10 days. I’ll then crash it and get it ready to serve though a beer engine.

DSC_0484

I whipped up a pump clip for it as well!

Jackrabbit-pump-clip

Cheers

LB

UPDATE:

I have kegged this beer tonight and a sample straight from the FV is telling me this is a corcker of a beer! Really happy with the floral/citrus of the Amarillo, counter balanced with a great, light chocolatey malt flavour!

3 thoughts on “Jackrabbit – Hoppy Session Brown

  1. Looks good, the next time i do a US brown I’m going to go mega heavy on the cara/crystals, I think I want a pretty sweet brown with a shed load of dry hopping.

      • I’d go for more like what the books say for some of the American stuff, maybe a chunk of Flaked barley for some further smoothness.
        I’ve done a Stout for Pauls 🙂 #WishboneStoutVersion1

Leave a Reply

