Oatmeal Coffee Stout 1.0

Porter-Stout-Glassware

As the new year continues in a similar vain as the last one ended, the dark, damp days continue. It’s this type of weather that makes me want to tuck into a hearty, full bodied stout. Oatmeal stouts are my favourite sub set of the style. Rich, thick and dark, they can take some beating in the cold windy nights of Yorkshire! I also love a nice hit of coffee in a stout, so for me these two go hand in hand! I n the same breath, I have had some that have been a bit too alcoholic, a bit too roast, and a bit too sweet for my tastes. Ok, they do fall on the ‘sweeter’  side of stout but I like my oatmeal stout somewhere in the middle!

This is going to be just a 1 corni keg sized batch as I want to tweak the recipe to where I want it. In essence this is OCS 1.0. Further tweaks could involve toasting the oats, a different coffee blend or yeast choice. For this version I am going with untested flaked oats, Taylors of Harrogate Espresso Blend coffee (Keeping it Yorkshire 😉 ) and good old S04.

Taylor’s of Harrogate Espresso Blend

“Our Espresso combines Brazilian coffee for balance, Indonesian for chocolate, Kenyan for sweetness and Ethiopian for a strong burst of flavour that’s followed by a smooth lingering finish.”

73e36a58-e48f-47f6-872d-66430c630d49_main_espresso-270

20L post boil
1.045
1.012
Mash 68oC
30 IBU
32 SRM

Fermentables
Ingredient Amount % MCU When
UK Pale Ale Malt 2.911 kg 70.0 % 3.3 In Mash/Steeped
UK Flaked Oats 0.416 kg 10.0 % 0.5 In Mash/Steeped
UK Light Crystal 0.333 kg 8.0 % 5.4 In Mash/Steeped
UK Pale Chocolate Malt 0.208 kg 5.0 % 15.8 In Mash/Steeped
UK Roasted Barley 0.166 kg 4.0 % 40.4 In Mash/Steeped
German Carafa Special III 0.125 kg 3.0 % 24.8 In Mash/Steeped
Hops
Variety Alpha Amount IBU Form When
US Magnum 16.0 % 13 g 30.2 Loose Whole Hops 60 Min From End
Other Ingredients
Ingredient Amount When
Coffee, Ground 45 g In Boil
YeastDCL S-04-SafAle

I wanted a good amount of oats in this to help create the great silky mouthfeel I like in an oatmeal stout. Mashing high will also help to create some un-fermentable long chain sugars, keeping the body up in a relatively low ABV beer. I went for light crystal to keep away from the dark stone fruit character you can get with darker crystal malts. I just am not a fan of these in a stout. The pale chocolate is another great malt that will help develop the roasted character of the beer without going as far as a dry or US style stout.

US magnum to bitter with no other hop additions. In this beer they just aren’t the focus.

blind-faith-label

As for the coffee addition. I was really happy with the coffee extraction and flavour profile from my previous attempt at a coffee stout back in 2012, so the plan is the same, coffee in at flame out as if it were an aroma steep.

DSC_0242

DSC_0250

Salt additions

For the salt additions I wanted to boost the CaCl2 to aid in the malt perception of the beer, as well as add some Epsom salts for magnesium to aid as a nutrient for the yeast.

DSC_0265

DSC_0288 DSC_0290

All in all a pretty chilled session. I was a tad over on volume and OG at 22L and a whisker over on gravity @ 1.046.

Set at 19oC in the fermentation chamber, with SafO4 on the job it shouldn’t take long to turn around.

Cheers

 

07/01/2014 Update

Very happy with the way this beer came out. It was pretty much exactly what I wanted out of it. Smooth coffee flavour backing up a chocolate/slightly roast/toasty malt profile. The reduced coffee addition and IBUs has worked better than in my previous effort, which I thought lent too much bitterness and over poured the malt. Not this time! I think its working in harmony.

 

Cheers

 

4 thoughts on “Oatmeal Coffee Stout 1.0

  1. In good old SO4 fashion the krausen has fallen back in and air lock activity has slowed! I think it may be nearly done! I will pull a sample tomorrow and report back!

    Cheers

    LB

Leave a Reply

