2014 New Years Brewday: Flanders Oud Bruin

133-homebrewing-sm1

Its been a couple of months since the last post on the blog. Academic work has been taking up most if not all of the spare time at the moment so posting has taken a bit of a back seat. I could not end the year without posting about my New Years 2014 brew.

As some readers may be aware for the past few years myself and Mrs LB have brewed a keeping beer on New Years Day (or Eve work depending) for drinking the following New Years Eve. So far they have been either Imperial Stouts , with last years exception of a Baltic Porter .

This years beer is a Flanders Oud Bruin. I have fallen head over heals for sour beers and it is about time I have areal go at one!

Flanders Oud Bruin

Description:
Oud Bruins, not restricted to, but concentrated in Flanders, are light to medium-bodied, deep copper to brown in colour. They are extremely varied, characterized by a slight vinegar or lactic sourness and spiciness to smooth and sweet. A fruity-estery character is apparent with no hop flavor or aroma. Low to medium bitterness. Very small quantities of diacetyl are acceptable. Roasted malt character in aroma and flavor is acceptable, at low levels. Oak-like or woody characters may be pleasantly integrated into overall palate. Typically old and new Brown ales are blended, like Lambics.

I’ve been reading Jeff Sparrow’s Excellent book ‘Wild Brews‘, listening to The Brewing Network programs on wilb beers and especial the Jamil Show episode on  Oud Bruin. I’m pretty sure I’ve mentioned Michael Tonsmeire’s excellent blog The Mad Fermentationist before, but that blog has been a great resource for my understanding of home brewing sour beers.

So the recipe:

gravensteen

Gravensteen Castle – Ghent

23L
1.058
1.011 (before bugs)
6.2%
18 SRM
21 IBU

Mash 68oC

Fermentables
Ingredient Amount
Belgian Pilsen Malt 79.7 %
German CaraBohemian 6.0 %
German Munich Malt 6.0 %
Belgian Aromatic Malt 3.0 %
Belgian Special B 3.0 %
German Carafa Special III 2.3 %
Hops
Variety Alpha Amount IBU Form When
US Magnum 16.0 % 12 g 21.5 Loose Whole Hops 60 Min From End

Yeast

Primary Fermentation
White Labs WLP029-German Ale/Kolsch

Secondary
Wyeast 3763 Roeselare Blend

I’m going with the WLP029 as I have just fermented a Faux Bo Pils with it so have a load of slurry rearing to go! After the primary neutral ale yeast fermentation I plan on racking to a bester bottle (another great tip from TMF) and ageing with the 3763. I plan on then splitting the batch and adding fruit, the details of which I haven’t decided yet. I may fruit on half, or fruit both with say cherries in one and raspberries in the other!?!?

A few brew day photos

DSC_0214    DSC_0215

DSC_0217   DSC_0222

  

The Dingemans Pilsen malt has been consistently producing some very clear wort straight from the mash tun, I’m quite impressed with it. It lends beers a fantastic grainy, pilsner sweet malt flavour and aroma. I’m not sure how much will come through in this beer though.

DSC_0226 DSC_0228

A couple of shots of the pre boil sample!

PBG was 1.050 rather than the predicted 1.045 so that makes the mash efficiency 85% rather than the estimated 80%

DSC_0229    DSC_0231

All in all a pretty simple brew day. I managed 25L @ 1.059. I pitched 200ml of very thick WLP029 slurry and tucked it up in the brew fridge at 19oC. A great way to end 2013 and kick off 2014’s brewing! I’ll keep this one updated as the year goes by!

Happy New Year!

UPDATE

I took a sample form the FV today. It has just about reached FG

DSC_0258

On my hydrometer I reckon thats about 1.014. That was the predicted FG from BeerAlchemy, with an attenuation of 75%. I adjusted the recipe as the Faux Pils that the WLP029 fermented previously managed an attenuation of 80%. This discrepancy may be due to the high mash temp of the Oub Bruin. Although It may just creep the last few gravity points in the next few days!

DSC_0257DSC_0261

Colour wise I am totally happy with it. I can’t wait to see this beer with the blushed hues of the fruit!Only another 12 months to go then! 😉

Update 05/02/2014

This beer has now been transferred into a better bottle style plastic carboy and had the drug of the following beers added to it:

Cantillon Gueuze 100% Lambic
Wild Beer Co Solera
Berliner Kindl Weisse
Liefmans Goudenband

DSC_0356

I also have a smack pack of Wyeast 3763 Roeselare blend on the way to add to it as well.

EDIT 07/02/2014

DSC_0362

Roeselare blend has now been added to the Oud Bruin. The dregs of the smack pack have also been added to a gallon of blended beer (50% Oud Bruin, 50% Solaris Pale Ale). A pelicle has already started to film on the gallon blend.

5 thoughts on “2014 New Years Brewday: Flanders Oud Bruin

  1. Hi, I’m very late commenting, but I think that the Berliner Weisse dregs are probably pretty dead. There is not Brett in there, but maybe some other lacto-producers may have survived…. in any case its all food for the othe bugs!

    • Yeah, you’re not wrong. There were plenty of other bugs to kepe it going though. It’s still in the souring vessel. Tasting on point. I’m going ot have to do something with it lol

Leave a Reply

