It’s Saison time again (AG#87)

saison-beer-646

A few weeks ago I started culturing up the yeast from a bottle of Dupont and a bottle of Wild Beer Co’s Epic Saison. I’d been thinking about trying to come up with a ‘House’ saison blend. I’ve made my love of the Dupont strain clear on here before. So why adulterate it with something else? I found the WBC yeast to have a lovely sharp character to it, almost sour. Just a touch, but I liked it. So two bottles of very nice saison later and theexperiment was under way.

wildbeerco

Fast forward to Sunday’s brew session and I went with a similar recipe to my ‘Classic‘ saison brewed back in August last year. I’ve made a few tweaks. I’ve dropped the Abbey malt as I think it was boosting the body a little too much. I have opted for Weyermann Vienna instead for a hit of colour and malt flavour. I have also added a few % sugar, just to lighten the beer a little as the last one could have been a touch drier. I’ve kept the hops the same as I thought they were stop on last time. I may dry hop a gallon of this just to see what happens.Saison Dupont

Vol: 23L
OG: 1.055
FG: 1.010
ABV: 6.0%
IBU: 31
Colour: 5.8 SRM

Grist

85% Belgian Pale Ale Malt
5% Wheat Malt
5% Vienna Malt (Weyermann)
2.5% Caramel Vienna Malt (Dingermans)

2.5% Sugar (White)

Hops

Saaz 3.5%aa 56g (25 IBU) 60 mins
Styrian Goldings 4.5%aa 15g (2.3IBU) 15mins
Saaz 3.5%aa 25g (1.9IBU) 1 mins
Styrian Goldings 4.5%aa 25 g (2.4IBU) 1mins

Yeast

House Saison Blend

I expect the FG to be a fair bit lower than the calculated 1.010 from BeerAlchemy, but as I have no idea what the attenuation will be I thought I’d just stick with the calculation and add the yeast profile to BA after fermentation is complete so the next brew with this blend will be more accurate.

Anyway, I’ve got a couple of brewday photos to post but they haven’t been uploaded yet. I’ll update late on.

I took 4L of the wort to make a starter for a vial of wlp670 American farmhouse, a blend of saison yeast and brett! Watch this space for more saison action!

Cheers

LB out!

4 thoughts on “It’s Saison time again (AG#87)

Leave a Reply

